Those who care about the past of the region will be happy to discover the history of the heart of the Spiš region – dominant Spiš castle.
As a National Cultural Monument, Spiš Castle with its area of more than 4 hectares and partially in ruins, is one of the largest and most beautiful castle compounds in Europe. Spiš Castle was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 1993.
Construction of the medieval castle on a travertine hill dates back to the beginning of the 12th century. The oldest written reference to the castle is from 1120. At the beginning it was a boundary fort placed at the northern frontier of an early feudal Old Hungarian state. Afterwards, it became the seat of the head of the Spiš region for many centuries.
Lomnicky Peak is the second highest peak in High Tatras and visitors here can enjoy a remarkable view of the almost 1/5th of the Slovakia territory.
The peak has been accessible by a cable car from Tatranská Lomnica since 1940 and it soon became the most visited peak of the High Tatras. We will use unique red suspension cable car, which surmounts a vertical drop of 855 meters.The cable car station on the top of the peak is connected to the highest situated Astronomical and Meteorological Observatory in Slovakia.
The Ľubovňa Castle was built at the turn of the 13th and 14th century when it became a part of the boundary castles system in the north of the Hungarian Kingdom.
Besides the protection of the former Polish-Old Hungarian border, its task was to secure the important trade route passing along the valley of the Poprad river to Poland.
The first written reference about the town Stará Ľubovňa (Old Ľubovňa) comes from the year 1292. After the castle Ľubovňa was built, the village changed into a settlement around the castle and significantly gained importance.
From 1655 to 1661 Polish crown jewels were hidden here and in 1768 famous Slovak adventurer, nobleman and King of Madagaskar, Móric Beňovský was imprisoned at Stará Ľubovňa castle.
Below the castle of Stará Ľubovňa there is an open-air museum (Ľuboviansky skanzen) where you can find examples of folk architecture from the regions Spiš and Šariš. The most precious object is a Greek Orthodox Church of St. Michal Archangel from the village Matysová, built in 1883.
Moreover, you can find here a lot of wooden residential houses from the beginning of the 20th century. The interior of these residential houses reflects the original way of living. The exhibition is very rich and apart from the equipment for daily use, you can find here also means of production of their inhabitants: tinkers, shoemakers, coopers, weavers and cabinetmakers. In the houses, you can find demonstrations of folk habits and traditions: birth, wedding, Christmas and Easter.
The Pieniny national park that is situated north-east from the High Tatras on the Polish-Slovak borders offers on a small territory a number of picturesque natural beauties.
Dunajec is the only river that takes waters from the Slovak territory to the Baltic Sea. The main attraction of this territory is rafting on traditional Goral wooden rafts on the longest canyon in the Central Europe – the canyon of the river Dunajec. The most beautiful section is romantic ravine in the limestone reefs, known as Prielom Dunajca. The Dunajec Canyon area is a protected National Natural Reserve. It is a very interesting area especially by its flora and a magnificent landscape.
Bardejov is one of the oldest and most beautiful Slovak towns with more 777 year history.
The historical gem of eastern Slovakia, Bardejov is today mainly known for its outstanding old town square. Several churches, the oldest two being more than five hundred years old, pay tribute to a variety of architectural styles and periods, from authentic Gothic to Gothic revival, but for the most part, the flavor is 16th- to 18th-century.
The town of Bardejov was rightly awarded the European award, gold medal of ICOMOS Foundation of UNESCO in 1986 and it was inscribed into the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2000.
The neighboring spa town of Bardejovske Kupele that are well known even beyond state borders features typical empire-era resort architecture, access to the curative waters in the spa park.
Solisko is one of the easiest accessible peaks of the High Tatras. Mt.Predné Solisko, located on the southern edge of the mountain range at the altitude of 2,093 m, offers a beautiful view of the valleys Mlynická and Furkotská dolina. We'll take a cable car from the lower station at Štrbské Pleso up to the altitude of 1,814 m.
Solisko is a great place for both - non-tourists and recreational tourists. Only a few meters from the upper cable car station, there is the Bivac Restaurant with a sunny terrace where non-tourist can relax, enjoy a meal, refreshment and beautiful views of the valley, Mt. Kriváň, the romantic tarn of Štrbské pleso, or the hill Kráľová hoľa. Those who don’t mind a little physical activity can quickly reach the top of Solisko peak. The trip to the top and back usually takes about 90 minutes.
Košice, the city where east and west meet, where history and human destiny mix with the present. Košice is home to the oldest marathon in Europe, it boasts the largest heritage reservation in Slovakia, as well as the largest and most important gold treasure in Europe, but most importantly, it is a city where life is lived and enjoyed.
Košice is a beautiful historic city where Hlavná Street provides an unforgettable atmosphere with historical monuments at every step. At the center is the easternmost Gothic cathedral in Europe, the largest church in Slovakia, and of course the pride of the city of Košice. From 60-metre high northern tower of the cathedral, tourists can enjoy the fantastic view of the city center.
The Demänovská Ice Cave is one of the first known caves in the world. It is mentioned in the document of the Ostrihom's Chapter from December 5, 1299. Cave is formed by the underground flow of the river Demänovka. Visit tour leads through spacious river corridors interrupted by steep sections. Its first part takes you to cave spaces with sinter decoration and the second through icy spaces, which is a really impressing combination.
The cave was open to the public in 1880s. People were visiting the cave with resinous torches, candles and paraffin lamps till 1924 when it became more famous thanks to the newly opened Demänovská jaskyňa slobody (Demänovská Cave of Freedom). After wooden stairs, pavements and electric lights were established, it was once more opened to the public in 1952.
The cave is a long-known find of bones of various animals, including cave bear, which were once considered as dragon bones - that's why the second name of Demanovska ice cave was the Dragon's cave